Who makes the rules in society 2.0?

I’m away at the moment which has given me some time to recollect some very cold coffee thoughts – this time from the New Year…

It’s Life Jim, but not as we know it.

Spock’s “no-shit-Sherlock” diagnosis has been disturbing my thoughts of cold coffee due to constant New Year editorial round ups (don’t you hate these and why do you still read them?) showcasing the Second Lifer who earnt himself a million bucks in a virtual world. I don’t mean to be ungracious, also putting aside traditional British aversion to money-making, but where is the justice? We go to work in a real place, deal with real life issues and no virtual god gives me such reward. There some new rules here. In fact where do the new rules stop?

It’s a long time since the Iron Lady claimed that there was no such thing as society. This morning, I the get feeling she was doubly wrong.  Not only is society flourishing, the Red movement et al,  but we all seem to be building another dimension to society – Society 2.0 I think it is called. Before everyone groans with the pain of point-zero-itis, hear me out. I was with you until the virtual millionaire.

If the virtual world can make real money then what about real politics online?  Who is the representative, the congressman or deputy for the online community? Who protects the interest for the time indeed the life we spend online? I don’t imagine George Bush or Vlad Putin would be voted into the role. It’s often said in Internet worlds the rules are made from the bottom up and that it is about the democratization of everything. So, Iraq apart, this trend toward democratization seems a truism but heck all of the people can’t be right all of the time. Who’s going to make the decisions and solve the arguments?

Then I suppose there are the rules around the bigger business picture. How will value be determined if there are only ever virtual business partners? What if companies themselves become dissolvable and the ideas lives online?  Okay, I am getting silly now and nasty memories of the new economy and multi-million valuations of revenue-less companies are spoiling my dreams of a swiftly cooling coffee. Then again, is this any sillier than the price paid for Youtube, or a millionaire on Second Life?  Thoughts?

Technorati Tags: , , ,

9 Comments

Filed under society 2.0

9 responses to “Who makes the rules in society 2.0?

  1. Pingback: Dib Dib Dib… « The last man in Europe…

  2. I really appreciate this post. I’ve been looking everywhere for
    this! Thank goodness I found it

    on Bing. You’ve made my day! Thanks again

  3. I wish to show my appreciation to

    this writer for bailing me out of this type of

    situation. As a result of exploring throughout the world wide web and coming across

    solutions that were not beneficial, I believed my life was

    over. Living without the

    approaches to the issues you have solved as a result of your entire write-up is a crucial case, and the ones that
    could have negatively

    affected my career if I hadn’t encountered the blog. Your primary know-how and kindness in taking care of all things was

    tremendous. I’m not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t come
    upon such a point like this. It’s possible to at this moment look forward to my future. Thank you so

    much for your impressive and

    amazing help. I won’t hesitate to propose your
    blog post to anyone who would need direction

    about this topic.

  4. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It

    positively useful and it has helped me out loads. I am hoping to give a

    contribution & assist other users like its aided me. Good

    job.

  5. Currently it seems like Movable Type is the best blogging
    platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  6. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He used to be totally right.
    This publish truly made my day. You cann’t

    consider just how much time I had spent for this info! Thank

    you!

  7. sherlenereed79

    you are really a good webmaster. The site loading speed is incredible.
    It seems that

    you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The
    contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a fantastic job on this topic!

  8. An interesting discussion is definitelky worth comment.
    I do believe that you ought too publish more about this
    subject matter, it may not be a taboo subject but typically folks don’t
    speak about these topics. To the next! Cheers!!

  9. خیلی پست ارزنده بود. تشکر از شما

Leave a comment